

Proclamation OF THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF THE COUNTY OF EL DORADO Recognizing Volunteers of the You Are Not Alone Telephone Reassurance Program

Whereas, the You Are Not Alone (YANA) Telephone Reassurance Program was established in 1999 through a coordinated effort between the Health and Human Services Agency and the Sheriff's Office to provide daily telephone calls to check on the well-being of seniors and disabled adults living in El Dorado County utilizing volunteers from the community and the Sheriff's Team of Active Retired (S.T.A.R.) Program; and

Whereas, for over 16 years YANA volunteers have provided calls 7 days a week, 365 days a year, including on holidays and during the roughest storms, and have contributed over 1250 hours a year reassuring YANA participants that they are not alone; and

Whereas, over 400 participants have taken advantage of this free service, allowing the most vulnerable community members to remain independent and safe in their homes knowing that someone will be calling daily; and

Whereas, YANA volunteers are the ears for our vulnerable community members and offer a caring and resourceful means to connect the senior and disabled community with services in El Dorado County and expect nothing in return for their service; and

Whereas, the El Dorado County Health and Human Services Agency and El Dorado County Sheriff's Office would like to thank the YANA volunteers for their dedication and commitment to the YANA Program and community members being served.

Now therefore be it proclaimed: that the County of El Dorado Board of Supervisors do hereby formally recognize and commend the volunteers of the You Are Not Alone Telephone Reassurance Program for their dedication and contribution to helping our most vulnerable community members remain safe in their homes.

Passed by the Board of Supervisors of the County of El Dorado at a regular meeting of said Board, held the 3rd day of March, 2015.

Attest:	
James S. Mitrisin	
Clerk of the Board of Supervisors	
by:	
Deputy Clerk	Brian K. Veerkamp, Chair, Board of Supervisors