

PLANNING COMMISSION of the COUNTY OF EL DORADO BYLAWS

1. AUTHORITY AND DEFINITIONS

The following Bylaws of the Planning Commission of the County of El Dorado, hereinafter referred to as the Commission, are hereby adopted pursuant to Section 65102 of the Government Code of the State of California and Section 2.20.650 of the El Dorado County Code.

2. OFFICE

The principal office of the Commission shall be at the El Dorado County Government Center, 2850 Fairlane Court, Placerville, California.

3. MEETINGS

- a. Regular meetings of the Commission shall be held at the principal office of the Commission, starting at 8:309:00 a.m. on the second and the fourth Thursday of each month. When this falls on a legal holiday, the meeting shall be held at a date set at least 30 days in advance by a majority of the Commission unless cancelled.
- b. Special meetings of the Commission may be called by the Chair or any three members of the Commission by notifying the Executive Secretary, stating the purpose, time, and place of the meeting at least 96 hours before the time set forth. The Executive Secretary shall thereupon notify each member of the purpose, time, and place of the meeting at least 72 hours before the time of the meeting. An agenda of said meeting shall be posted at least 72 hours prior to the meeting, and notice of a special meeting shall also be given to the news media.

c. Meetings may be adjourned to another time and place by the Chair with majority concurrence. The Chair shall give public notice of the time and place during the meeting so adjourned.

4. OFFICERS

- a. The officers of the Commission shall consist of a Chair, First Vice Chair, Second Vice Chair, and an Executive Secretary.
- b. The Chair, First Vice Chair, and Second Vice Chair shall be elected for a one-year term from and by the voting members of the Commission at the second regular meeting in January of each year and shall take office at the next regular meeting. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner at the first meeting immediately following the time the vacancy occurs.
- c. The Chair shall act as the presiding officer at all meetings of the Commission.
- d. In the absence of the Chair, the First Vice Chair shall preside and exercise all the duties of the Chair. In the absence of both the Chair and First Vice Chair, the Second Vice Chair shall act as Chair until the return of the Chair or First Vice Chair.
- e. The Planning and Building Department Director shall be ex-officio Executive Secretary of the Commission. The Executive Secretary shall be responsible for the preparation and publication of an agenda and for the keeping of minutes, and shall deliver, correspondence, reports, and other matters on behalf of the Commission. The Executive Secretary will sign the claims for expenses of the Commission.

5. SPECIAL ASSIGNMENTS AND COMMITTEES

- a. The Commission may establish special research and review assignments or committees on an Ad Hoc or Standing basis.
- b. Assignments and committees shall not examine, research, or report on individual development projects or pending applications but items of general policy interest.
- c. Findings and reports of special research and review shall be filed with the Executive Secretary and Chair as a proposed future agenda item.

6. PROCEDURES

- a. Meetings shall be conducted in such manner as the Chair directs within the rules herein set forth and any regularly adopted agenda therefore.
- b. A majority of the Commission shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of Page 2 of 4

business. Majority shall mean three or more members of the total Commission membership of five members. The only action which can be taken at a meeting attended by less than a quorum is to adjourn the meeting to a certain day and time or indefinitely.

- c. To be passed, all motions and resolutions must receive the affirmative votes of no less than the majority of the Commission unless otherwise required by law.
- d. Members of the Commission who are unable to attend a meeting shall, if possible, to inform the Chair, Executive Secretary, or Clerk in advance of said meeting in order to determine a quorum in advance.
- e. Voting shall be by roll call. Except on hearing items, the Chair may elect to call for "all in favor" or "any opposed" verbal vote. All officers of the Commission, except for the Executive Secretary, shall be able to vote. Any Commissioner voting in the minority on an item may request that their rationale be included in the meeting minutes and conveyed to the Board of Supervisors.
- f. Any person desiring to appear before the Commission, except at public hearings, may have the matter placed on the Commission's agenda, stating the name of the party and the purpose of the appearance. The matter will be considered during Public Forum, pursuant to procedures adopted by the Board of Supervisors.
- Any question of procedure not governed by the rules herein set forth, shall be decided in accordance with the latest revised edition of Rosenberg's Rules of Order.
- h.g. The Commission, by motion, may suspend or vary the application of these rules with regard to any proceedings or to any particular problem before the Commission.
- i.h. The agenda of all upcoming Planning Commission, including meeting cancelations, meetings will be coordinated with the Chair prior to being published for the public.
- i.i. By majority vote of the Planning Commission, the Commission may agendize items through the Resolution of Intention process (used for hearing items, i.e., rezoning initiated by the Commission, ordinance amendments initiated by the Commission, etc.).
- By majority vote of the Planning Commission, items discussed during Public Forum may be agendized for further discussion and/or action. These items will be placed on the next available agenda.
- k. Any Commissioner may request of the Executive Secretary the addition of an agenda item to place an item before the Commission for a majority vote on agendizing the proposed item for a future meeting.

Page 3 of 4

I. The Commission may repeal, amend, or add to these rules by resolution.

Adopted by the Planning Commission of the County of El Dorado on March 26, 1970

Amended on: March 1971
December 28, 1976
March 14, 1978
March 31, 1981
April 30, 1996
October 11, 2016
September 10, 2019

Executive Secretary of the Commission