

County of El Dorado

Minutes - Final Board of Supervisors

Wendy Thomas, Chair, District III
Vacant, First Vice Chair, District I
George Turnboo, Second Vice Chair, District II
Lori Parlin, District IV
Brooke Laine, District V

Kim Dawson, Clerk of the Board of Supervisors Tiffany Schmid, Chief Administrative Officer David Livingston, County Counsel Board of Supervisors
Department
330 Fair Lane, Building A
Placerville, California
530-621-5390
FAX 530-622-3645
https://www.eldoradocounty
.ca.gov/County-Governmen
t/Board-of-Supervisors

Friday, November 15, 2024

9:00 AM

https://edcgov-us.zoom.us/j/88616849620

Special Board Meeting for Supervisor John Hidahl

330 Fair Lane, Building A Placerville, CA OR Live Streamed - Click here to view

Although the County strives to offer remote participation, be advised that remote Zoom participation is provided for convenience only. In the event of a technological malfunction, the only assurance of live comments being received by the Board is to attend in person. Except for a noticed teleconference meeting, the Board reserves the right to conduct the meeting without remote access if there is a malfunction. PUBLIC PARTICIPATION INSTRUCTIONS: The Board of Supervisors meeting room will be open to the public. The meeting will continue to be live-streamed via Zoom and YouTube.

Members of the public may address the Board in-person or via Zoom to make a public comment. The public should call into 530-621-7603 or 530-621-7610. The Meeting ID is 886 1684 9620. Please note you will be able to join the live-stream 15 minutes prior to the posted meeting start time. To observe the live stream of the Board of Supervisors meeting go to https://edcgov-us.zoom.us/j/88616849620.

To observe the Board of Supervisors meetings via YouTube, click https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCUMjDk3NUltZJrpw2CL7Zkg.

If you are joining the meeting via zoom and wish to make a comment on an item, press the "raise a hand" button. If you are joining the meeting by phone, press *9 to indicate a desire to make a comment. By participating in this meeting, you acknowledge that you are being recorded.

If you choose not to observe the Board of Supervisors meeting but wish to make a comment on a specific agenda item, please submit your comment in writing. You are encouraged to submit your comment in writing by 4:00 PM on the Thursday before the meeting to ensure the Board of Supervisors has adequate time to review. Please submit your comment to the Clerk of the Board at edc.cob@edcgov.us. Your comment will be placed into the record and forwarded to the Board of Supervisors.

Vision Statement

Exceptional quality of life with a strong sense of community, rural character, managed growth, and opportunity for all.

This institution is an equal opportunity provider and employer.

Live Web Streaming and archiving of most Board of Supervisors meeting videos, all meeting agendas, supplemental materials and meeting minutes are available on the internet at: http://eldorado.legistar.com/Calendar.aspx

The County of El Dorado is committed to ensuring that persons with disabilities are provided the resources to participate in its public meetings. Please contact the office of the Clerk of the Board if you require accommodation at 530-621-5390 or via email, edc.cob@edcgov.us, preferably no less than 24 hours in advance of the meeting.

The Board of Supervisors is concerned that written information submitted to the Board the day of the Board meeting may not receive the attention it deserves. The Board Clerk cannot guarantee that any FAX, email, or mail received the day of the meeting will be delivered to the Board prior to action on the subject matter.

For Purposes of the Brown Act § 54954.2 (a), the numbered items on this Agenda give a brief description of each item of business to be transacted or discussed. Recommendations of the staff, as shown, do not prevent the Board from taking other action.

Materials related to an item on this Agenda submitted to the Board of Supervisors after distribution of the agenda packet are available for inspection during normal business hours in the public viewing packet located in Building A, 330 Fair Lane, Placerville or in the Board Clerk's Office located at the same address. Such documents are also available on the Board of Supervisors' Meeting Agenda webpage subject to staff's ability to post the documents before the meeting.

PROTOCOLS FOR PUBLIC COMMENT

Public comment will be received at designated periods as called by the Board Chair.

Except with the consent of the Board, individuals shall be allowed to speak to an item only once.

On December 5, 2017, the Board adopted the following protocol relative to public comment periods. The Board adopted minor revisions to the protocol on August 24, 2021, incorporated herein:

The Board wants all members of the public to feel welcome to speak, especially regarding controversial items. Time for public input will be provided at every Board of Supervisors meeting. Applause or other outbursts are not allowed in the Board Chambers.

Pursuant to Government Code section 54956, the Chair of the El Dorado County Board of Supervisors does hereby call a special meeting of the El Dorado County Board of Supervisors, as more specifically set forth herein.

9:00 A.M. - CALLED TO ORDER

Present: 4 - Supervisor Thomas, Supervisor Turnboo, Supervisor Laine and Supervisor Parlin

INVOCATION AND PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG

Deacon Dan Haverty of Holy Trinity Catholic Church gave the Invocation.

Supervisor Thomas led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

9:00 A.M. - TIME ALLOCATION (Items will not be heard prior to the time stated)

1. 24-1994

Clerk of the Board and Chief Administrative Office recommending the Board authorize the Chair to sign a Proclamation in recognition of Supervisor John Hidahl who was an integral part of our community and the El Dorado County family. The County wishes to share a moment of appreciation for a joyful life taken too soon.

FUNDING: N/A

Public Comment: B. Veerkamp, B. O'Neil, J. Deville, M. Dion-Perry, S. Adrian, S. Frentzen, S. Novasel, M. Danavaro, J. Russell, K. Lishman, P. Vanderkar, A. Poole, G. Ferrero, L. Nelson, R. Wyatt, T. White, B. Knocks, M. Ranalli, K. Scharffenberg, L. Cauchon, A. Ross, R. Scharp, Tara, W. Deloria, K. Payne

Supervisor Thomas read the Proclamation.

A motion was made by Supervisor Thomas, seconded by Supervisor Parlin to Approve this matter.

Yes: 4 - Thomas, Turnboo, Laine and Parlin

ADJOURNED AT 10:46 A.M.