RESOLUTION NO.

OF THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF THE COUNTY OF EL DORADO CELEBRATING THE 50^{TH} ANNIVERSARY OF THE VOTING RIGHTS ACT OF 1965

WHEREAS, On August 6, 1965, President Lyndon B. Johnson signed the Voting Rights Act into law; this landmark piece of federal legislation prohibits racial discrimination in voting; Congress later amended the Act five times to expand its protections; and

WHEREAS, the Act was designed to enforce the voting rights guaranteed by the Fourteenth and Fifteenth Amendments to the United States Constitution, the Act allowed for a mass enfranchisement of racial minorities throughout the country; and

WHEREAS, the Act contains numerous provisions that regulate the administration of elections and provide nationwide protections for voting rights; and

WHEREAS, the Act requires jurisdictions containing significant language-minority populations to provide bilingual ballots and other election materials; and

WHEREAS, the Act has been the single most effective tool in protecting the right to vote and assuring the integrity of the voting process in this century; and

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the El Dorado County Registrar of Voters does hereby join with the California Association of Clerks and Election Officials to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the Voting Rights Act of 1965 which occured on August 6, 2015. We honor its significance; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the El Dorado County Registrar of Voters will continue to protect the rights of voters in the County of El Dorado.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that we recognize the great contributions and achievements of our government leaders and civil rights activists for encouraging participation in the democratic process and protecting voter rights.

PASSED AND ADOPTED by the Board of Supervisors of the County of El Dorado at a regular meeting of said Board, held the _____ day of ______, 20__, by the following vote of said Board:

Attest: James S. Mitrisin Clerk of the Board of Supervisors Ayes: Noes: Absent:

By: ____

Deputy Clerk

Chair, Board of Supervisors