

RESOLUTION NO. 175-2024

OF THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF THE COUNTY OF EL DORADO

WHEREAS, El Dorado County ("County") desires to participate in the California District Attorneys Association (CDAA) analysis of the effect of zero bail policies on public safety across eleven California counties (CDAA Zero Bail Study);

WHEREAS, CDAA is a nonprofit agency with the mission of promoting justice by enhancing prosecutorial excellence:

WHEREAS, analysis shall be conducted by CDAA to examine the effect of the zero bail policy on criminal reoffenses, failures to appear in court, how custodial status affects plea agreements, and the impact of bail on sentencing outcomes;

WHEREAS, CDAA will acquire detailed case information from the eleven partnering counties: Madera, Monterey, Placer, Riverside, Sacramento, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Joaquin, Santa Barbara, Yolo, and El Dorado and provide a policy brief that details the main findings of the empirical analysis, with a target delivery date of November 2024:

WHEREAS, the funding provided herein supports the CDAA Zero Bail Study initiative;

WHEREAS, through the Department of Justice Equitable Sharing Program, Asset Forfeiture funds may be used to for law enforcement operations and investigations and;

WHEREAS, the Board of Supervisors has determined that a public benefit is derived from the support of the CDAA Zero Bail Study with a valuable purpose of increasing public safety within the community and reducing the negative impacts of the Zero Bail Policy.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Supervisors of the County of El Dorado approves the use of Department of Justice Asset Forfeiture funds to provide a \$10,000 contribution to CDAA for the purpose of supporting the Zero Bail Study and authorizes the Auditor-Controller to disburse funding for the same.

PASSED AND ADOPTED by the Board of Supervisors of the County of El Dorado at a regular meeting of said Board, held the 15th day of October , 2024, by the following vote of said Board:

Attest: Kim Dawson Clerk of the Board of Supervisors

Deputy Clerk

Ayes: Thomas, Hidahl, Turnboo, Parlin, Laine Noes: None Absent: None

Chair, Board of Supervisors

Wendy Thomas

24-1740 B 1 of 1