

RESOLUTION NO. 078-2023

OF THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF THE COUNTY OF EL DORADO

WHEREAS, Assembly Bill (AB) 1416 was passed by the State Legislature in 2022 with an effective date of January 1, 2023. AB 1416 adds a requirement for statewide measures that a listing of the supporters and opponents of measures be listed on the ballot label or that a similar description be provided on the ballot, but gives counties the option of printing the list of supporters and opponents of local measures on the ballot;

WHEREAS, Elections Code section 9170(d), which was added pursuant to AB 1416 states as follows:

At least 30 days before the deadline for submitting arguments for or against county measures, a county board of supervisors may elect not to list supporters and opponents for county, city, district and school measures on the county ballot and future county ballots.

WHEREAS, opting into the additional printing will result in cost increases for ballot production and printing, will result in additional ballot space for each local measure printed on the ballot and will increase the possibility for electioneering and promotion of candidates who may be on the ballot and are also signers of the measure;

WHEREAS, the requirement of printing the list of supporters and opponents would also put the Elections Office in the position of accepting or denying abbreviations of supporters/opponents that may not be clear due to the maximum character limit of 125 characters each, and in turn may result in challenges to perceived unfair determinations.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF THE COUNTY OF EL DORADO that pursuant to Elections Code section 9170(d), the Board elects not to list supporters and opponents for county, city, district and school measures on the county ballot and future county ballots.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this Resolution shall take full force and effect immediately.

PASSED AND ADOPTED by the Board of Supervisors of the County of El Dorado at a regular meeting of said Board, held the 16th day of May, 2023 by the following vote of said Board:

Aves: Thomas, Hidahl, Turnboo, Parlin, Laine

Noes: None Absent: None

Kim Dawson Clerk of the Board of Supervisors

Attest:

Chair, Board of Supervisors Wendy Thomas