COUNTY OF EL DORADO

330 Fair Lane Placerville, CA 95667 (530) 621-5390 (530) 622-3645 Fax

SUZANNE ALLEN DE SANCHEZ Clerk of the Board



BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

JOHN R. KNIGHT District I

RAY NUTTING District II

JAMES R. SWEENEY District III

RON BRIGGS

District IV

NORMA SANTIAGO

District V

March 8, 2011

RECEIVED BOARD OF SUPERVISORS EL DORADO COUNTY 4:56 pm, Feb 25, 2011

LATE DISTRIBUTION

Date 4:56 pm, Feb 25, 2011

The Honorable Lou Correa, Chair Senate Committee on Elections and Constitutional Amendments State Capitol Room 2203 Sacramento, CA 95814

Dear Senator Correa:

The El Dorado County Board of Supervisors supports Senate Bill 106 (Blakeslee) which would provide reimbursement to counties for special election costs incurred between January 1, 2009 and April 19, 2011.

The special runoff election held on January 4, 2011 to fill the vacancy in Senate District 1 cost the County of El Dorado \$168,637. The County will also incur similar costs for the Assembly District 4 special primary election being held today. In addition, the County will likely have to fund the Assembly District 4 runoff election scheduled for May 3, 2011 for which Senate Bill 106 makes no repayment provision.

Over the last several years, County General Fund appropriations have been substantially reduced in response to declining property and sales tax revenue. Unexpected state special election costs are a significant additional burden on already strained County resources. Senate Bill 106 appropriately places these costs with the state and we urge your support.

Should you or your staff have any questions about the impact of recent special elections on the County of El Dorado, please contact Mr. William E. Schultz, Recorder-Clerk and Registrar of Voters at (530) 621-7480.

Sincerely,

Raymond J. Nutting, Chair El Dorado County Board of Supervisors

The Honorable Doug LaMalfa cc: The Honorable Ted Gaines The Honorable Alyson Huber The Honorable Sam Blakeslee