COUNTY OF EL DORADO

330 Fair Lane Placerville, CA 95667 (530) 621-5390 (530) 622-3645 Fax

Terri Daly
Acting Clerk of the Board



BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

JOHN R. KNIGHT
District I
RAY NUTTING
District II
JAMES R. SWEENEY
District III
RON BRIGGS
District IV
NORMA SANTIAGO
District V

June 19, 2012

The Honorable Sam Blakeslee California State Senate State Capitol, Room 4066 Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: SB 1306 (Blakeslee) - State Water Resources Control Board - Support

Dear Senator Blakeslee,

The County of El Dorado **supports** your Senate Bill 1306 pertaining to water quality and external scientific peer review. In requiring an external scientific peer review of the scientific basis for the adoption of general permit application requirements for storm water discharges by the State Water Resources Control Board and for the conditional waivers of waste discharge requirements for irrigated lands adopted by a regional water control board, we believe that SB 1306 will ensure that water quality guidelines are based on the best available science.

The County of El Dorado is a regulated entity as well as a stakeholder in the efforts to protect water quality. It is also our county staff that implements and enforces the requirements mandated by the State Water Resources Control Board as well as the Lahontan Regional Water Quality Control Board, and the Central Valley Regional Water Quality Control Board. New permits or waivers backed by solid science and collaboration with the stakeholders will further support the efforts to achieve the desired outcome and maximize compliance.

We support your proposal to require external scientific peer review of permit requirements for storm water and agricultural drainage and your recognition that counties are valuable stakeholders in the effort to protect water quality.

Sincerely,

John R. Knight, Chair

Board of Supervisors, County of El Dorado

cc:

The Honorable Ted Gaines, California State Senate
The Honorable Beth Gaines, California State Assembly
The Honorable Alyson Huber, California State Assembly
Assembly Committee on Environmental Safety and Toxic Materials

12-0772.C.1