

## RESOLUTION NO. 201-2014

## OF THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF THE COUNTY OF EL DORADO

## A Resolution of Thanks

To All State, Federal, and Local Agencies, and, To All El Dorado County Departments and Staff, and, To the Residents, Schools, Churches, Community Groups, Friends and Families Who Contributed So Much to So Many During the Sand and King Fires, 2014

**WHEREAS**, the Year 2014 marked a time in history for catastrophic fires in El Dorado County; and,

WHEREAS, more than 600 fire districts and agencies joined forces with state and local law enforcement to provide a safe and orderly response, rescue, evacuation, and recovery, working cooperatively with volunteers, community groups, churches, schools, residents, friends and family to support the thousands of lives, homes and acres affected by these fires; and,

WHEREAS, in this time of Thanksgiving, 2014, the County of El Dorado is compelled by the outpouring of generosity and collaboration that occurred in the midst of these catastrophic events.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the El Dorado County Board of Supervisors extends its heartfelt gratitude to the many public service employees, volunteers, community groups, businesses, citizens, churches, schools, State, Federal and County agencies, departments and staff who contributed their time, money, expertise and who responded immediately to the call for help, worked tirelessly to protect lives and property, and rose to the occasion, demonstrating the best in all of us at the most critical time.

AND, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that these events remind our communities, residents, visitors and observers, that it may not always require a crisis to bring communities together when, in fact, the ingredients that bind us exist in our each and every day.

PASSED AND ADOPTED by the Board of Supervisors of the County of El Dorado at a regular meeting of said Board, held the 17th day of November, 2014, by the following vote of said Board:

Attest:

James S. Mitrisin

Clerk of the Board of Supervisors

Deputy Clerk

Ayes: Mikulaco, Veerkamp, Briggs, Santiago

Noes: -0-

Absenta Frentzen

Norma, Santiago, Chair, Board of Supervisors