## COUNTY OF EL DORADO

## BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

330 Fair Lane Placerville, CA 95667 (530) 621-5390 (530) 622-3645 Fax

JAMES S. MITRISIN Clerk of the Board



RON MIKULACO
District I
SHIVA FRENTZEN
District II
BRIAN K. VEERKAMP
District III
MICHAEL RANALLI
District IV
SUE NOVASEL
District V

May 5, 2015

President Michael Picker California Public Utilities Commission 505 Van Ness Avenue San Francisco, CA 94102

Dear President Picker,

As mayors, city council members and local officials from around the state, we urge your continued support for net metering, an important state policy facilitating the growth of rooftop solar in California. More rooftop solar creates local jobs, reduces the burden of energy costs on our economy, and builds a cleaner energy future for all Californians.

Solar power is taking hold across our state, from coastal metropolises to agricultural and industrial hubs in the Central Valley, bringing significant benefits to California. The solar industry employed over 54,000 Californians in 2014, a 16 percent increase from the year before.

California's rooftop solar market would not be where it is today without net metering, a simple and fair policy that provides a one to one credit on a customer bill for any power exported to the grid, and exempts small local projects from fees designed for larger generating facilities. Over the next 30 years, California schools and government entities that have already installed net metered rooftop solar will save more than \$2.5 billion in electricity costs.

It is essential to preserve and expand net metering in order to build on this momentum and bring more solar power to more of our communities. We urge the Commission to maintain net metering without excessive new fees, and expand opportunities for renters and disadvantaged communities to benefit from net metering. With your continued leadership, California can keep building on our impressive solar momentum, harnessing the power of the sun and Californians' ingenuity to power us to a clean energy future.

Sincerely,

Brian K. Veerkamp, Chair

CC: Governor Jerry Brown
Commissioner Carla Peterman
Commissioner Michael Florio
Commissioner Catherine Sandoval
Commissioner Liane Randolph

15-0573 A1 of 1