COUNTY OF EL DORADO

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

330 Fair Lane Placerville, CA 95667 (530) 621-5390 (530) 622-3645 Fax

JAMES S. MITRISIN Clerk of the Board



RON "MIK" MIKULACO
District I
SHIVA FRENTZEN
District II
BRIAN K. VEERKAMP
District III
MICHAEL RANALLI
DISTRICT IV
SUE NOVASEL
DISTRICT V

May 19, 2015

The Honorable Robert M. Hertzberg California State Senate State Capitol, Room 4038 Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: Senate Bill 239 - OPPOSE

Dear Senator Hertzberg:

On behalf of the El Dorado County Board of Supervisors I regret to inform you of our opposition to your SB 239 that proposes to establish a new Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) process related to the extension of fire services, by contract or agreement, outside of a public agency's current boundaries.

Fire districts throughout the state and within our county face many challenges in their efforts to provide fire protection services. These challenges include limited fiscal resources, competing needs and changes in population. Many local fire protection districts are currently contemplating contracts for services that will allow them to continue to provide fire protection services as part of their effort to address these challenges.

The additional requirements and level of analysis required under SB 239 will not only increase costs to local fire protection districts but can result in delays in the negotiations and approvals between agencies that could directly affect the delivery of fire protection services to the communities they serve.

The requirement that a local fire protection district must first obtain the approval of the recognized fire employee organization before entering into a written agreement for the performance of new or extended services pursuant to a fire protection reorganization contract with another agency, and before the resolution of application is submitted to LAFCO, nullifies the authority of the elected local governing board.

The Honorable Robert M. Hertzberg May 19, 2015 Page 2

As SB 239 will increase costs to local fire protection districts, potentially delay the approval of contracts, and negates the authority of the elected governing boards, the El Dorado County Board of Supervisors is opposed to SB 239.

Respectfully,

Brian K. Veerkamp Chair, El Dorado County Board of Supervisors

cc: The Honorable Ted Gaines
The Honorable Beth Gaines
The Honorable Frank Bigelow
Rural County Representatives of California
California State Association of Counties
El Dorado LAFCO