## **Proclamation**

## OF THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF THE COUNTY OF EL DORADO RECOGNIZING MICHAEL NEAL ATWELL

Deputy Public Defender IV, Office of the Public Defender

WHEREAS, Michael Atwell is retiring from 20 years of public service on September 11, 2015; and

WHEREAS, Michael Atwell started a distinguished career in criminal law in 1968 when he passed the State Bar. His career path found him working in both private and public practice, including work as a Traffic Judge pro-tem, Small Claims Judge pro-tem, contracts with both Alpine and El Dorado Counties and a Certified Specialist in Criminal Law; and

**WHEREAS**, Michael Atwell was hired by The County of El Dorado on August 19, 1995, as a Deputy District Attorney, where he was employed until he transferred to the Office of the Public Defender on November 26, 2005 as Deputy Public Defender IV; and

WHEREAS, additionally, Michael Atwell has also found time to give back to the community, sharing his expertise, enthusiasm and experiences for the law as a past President of the Kiwanis Club of Lake Tahoe Sunrisers, past President of the Bar Association of Lake Tahoe, Trustee for the El Dorado County Law Library, and Chairman for the Criminal Law Advisory Committee, Board of Legal Specialization, California State Bar; and

**WHEREAS,** Michael Atwell has consistently carried out his legal duties on behalf of the County of El Dorado with skill, integrity and genuine kindness;

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED**, that the Board of Supervisors for the County of El Dorado commend, honor and recognize Michael Atwell for his exemplary years of service to the citizens of El Dorado County, and to hereby approve this proclamation as evidence of his achievements and contributions, and wish him the very best in his well-earned retirement.

**PASSED AND ADOPTED** by the Board of Supervisors of the County of El Dorado at a regular meeting of said Board, held the first day of September, 2015.

Attest:	
James S. Mitrisin	
Clerk of the Board of Supervisors	
By:	
Deputy Clerk	Chair, Board of Supervisors