

Establishes Participation on the Board of Directors for the Tahoe Prosperity Center

WHEREAS, El Dorado County has participated in a leadership capacity to help fund and guide the Tahoe Prosperity Center that was created in 2011 as a result of a collaborative process with the 2010 Lake Tahoe Basin Prosperity Plan; and,

WHEREAS, collaboration and participation among the original participating public agencies continues as members of the Tahoe Prosperity Center Board of Directors, including City of South Lake Tahoe, Placer County, Carson City, Douglas and Washoe Counties, Nevada; and,

WHEREAS, the mission of the Tahoe Prosperity Center is to unite Lake Tahoe communities to strengthen regional prosperity, to partner with governments on economic and community development, to expand the opportunities for broadband infrastructure placement and improvements, and to compete for federal, state and local grant funds that will contribute to this mission; and,

WHEREAS, the Purposes and Limitations contained in Article II of the Tahoe Prosperity Center Bylaws outline that the corporation is organized exclusively for charitable purposes as a 501(c)(3) with the specific purpose to convene and support economic development initiatives which would have the effect of improving the quality of life for businesses and residents while promoting environmental stewardship and sustainability within the Lake Tahoe Basin and adjoining regions; and, for activities that facilitate business development; supply data and research; administer grants; and to better facilitate opportunities that improve local infrastructure such as broadband, affordable housing and increase access to transportation capital.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Supervisors supports the mission and purpose of the Tahoe Prosperity Center, and, hereby appoints the District V Supervisor to sit as a voting member of the Tahoe Prosperity Center Board of Directors. The District V Supervisor's term on the Tahoe Prosperity Center Board of Directors shall run concurrently with the Supervisor's term on the Board of Supervisors.

PASSED AND ADOPTED by the Board of Supervisors of the County of El Dorado at a regular meeting of said Board, held the 22nd day of March, 2016, by the following vote of said Board:

Attest:

James S. Mitrisin Clerk of the Board of Supervisors

By: Marcee MacJuland

Ayes: Mikulaco, Ranalli, Frentzen, Veerkamp, Novasel Noes: None Absent: None

Chair, Board of Supervisors Ron Mikulaco