





PROCLAMATION

Of the El Dorado County Board of Supervisors Recognizing the Amador-El Dorado Forest Forum for their Ongoing Efforts to Protect and Improve our Forests

Whereas, the Amador-El Dorado Forest Forum is a group of forestry professionals, forestry educators and others interested in forestry practices and issues. In addition, the Forest Forum awards scholarships to local students majoring in Forestry and sponsors the California Forestry Challenge; and

Whereas, the first meeting of the Amador-El Dorado Forest Forum was held in December, 1941, with articles of incorporation adopted on May 5, 1942. The Forest Forum has operated continuously since then, holding meetings in the months of September through April at various locations in the two county region; and

Whereas, the Forest Forum goals are to promote and increase awareness of natural resource professions, award scholarships through the El Dorado Union High School District Career Fair, support forestry education programs and disseminate information through local media and colleges; and

Whereas, the Forest Forum sponsors the California Forestry Challenge, an academic event for high school students in technical forestry and current forestry topics. Since being founded in 2003 by Diane Dealey Neill, the program has grown from one event to five events throughout California. 2017 expects to see the program expanded outside California.

Whereas, the Forest Forum officers, Robert Little, President, Diane Dealey Neill, Secretary and Kevin Conway, Treasurer have worked diligently to plan and promote annual events such as the Annual Field Tour & BBQ, the Blanket Party, the Forestry Center at the Placerville Farm Day and participation in the Amador County and South Lake Tahoe Farm Days. More recently, they have added a Forestry Career Center the El Dorado Union High School District.

Now, Therefore, Be It Proclaimed, that the Board of Supervisors for the County of El Dorado hereby recognizes the Amador-El Dorado Forest Forum and its efforts to promote forestry management through information and education and officers Robert Little, Diane Dealey Neill and Kevin Conway for their dedication and commitment.

Passed and adopted by the Board of Supervisors of the County of El Dorado at a regular meeting of said Board, held the 3rd day of May, 2016.

Attest:

James S. Mitrisin

Clerk of the Board of Supervisors

Marca Maryanana

Deputy Clerk

Chair, Board of Supervisors