#### PLANNING COMMISSION

#### of the

## **COUNTY OF EL DORADO**

# $\underline{\mathbf{B}} \underline{\mathbf{Y}} \underline{\mathbf{L}} \underline{\mathbf{A}} \underline{\mathbf{W}} \underline{\mathbf{S}}$

#### 1. <u>AUTHORITY AND DEFINITIONS</u>

The following Bylaws of the Planning Commission of the County of El Dorado, hereinafter referred to as the Commission, are hereby adopted pursuant to Section 65102 of the Government Code of the State of California and Section 2.27.080 2.20.650 of the El Dorado County Code. Majority shall mean three or more members of the total Commission membership of five members.

### 2. <u>OFFICE</u>

The principal office of the Commission shall be at the El Dorado County Office Center, 2850 Fairlane Court, Placerville, California.

#### 3. <u>MEETINGS</u>

- a. Regular meetings of the Commission shall be held at the principal office of the Commission, starting at 8:30 a.m. on the second and the fourth Thursday of each month. When this falls on a legal holiday, the meeting shall be held at a date set at least 30 days in advance by a majority of the Commission unless cancelled.
- b. Special meetings of the Commission may be called by the Chairman or any three members of the Commission by notifying the Executive Secretary, stating the purpose, time, and place of the meeting at least 96 hours before the time set forth. The Executive Secretary shall thereupon notify each member of the purpose, time, and place of the meeting at least 72 hours before the time of the meeting. An agenda of said meeting shall be posted at least 72 hours prior to the meeting, and notice of a special meeting shall also be given to the news media.
- c. Meetings may be adjourned to another time and place by the Chairman with majority concurrence. <u>The ChairmanHe</u> shall give public notice of the time and place during the meeting so adjourned.

**Comment [RPT1]:** This section is not deleted. It is moved to section 5.b.

#### 4. OFFICERS

- a. The officers of the Commission shall consist of a Chair<del>man</del>, First Vice Chair<del>man</del>, Second Vice Chair<del>man</del>, and an Executive Secretary.
- b. The Chairman, First Vice Chairman, and Second Vice Chairman shall be elected for a one-year term from and by the voting members of the Commission at the second regular meeting in January of each year and shall take office at the next regular meeting. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner at the first meeting immediately following the time the vacancy occurs.
- c. The Chairman shall act as the presiding officer at all meetings of the Commission.
- d. <u>In the absence of the Chairman, t</u>The First Vice Chairman shall preside and exercise all the duties of the Chairman in his absence. In the absence of both the Chairman and First Vice Chairman, the Second Vice Chairman shall act as Chairman until the return of the Chairman or First Vice Chairman.
- e. The <u>Development Services Division Planning</u> Director shall be ex-officio Executive Secretary of the Commission. <u>The Executive Secretary He</u>-shall be responsible for the preparation of an agenda and for the keeping of minutes, and shall <del>prepare, sign, and deliver the budget</del>, correspondence, reports, and other matters on behalf of the Commission. The Executive Secretary will sign the claims for expenses of the Commission.

#### 5. <u>PROCEDURES</u>

- a. Meetings shall be conducted in such manner as the Chairman directs within the rules herein set forth and any regularly adopted agenda therefore.
- b. A majority of the Commission shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business. <u>Majority shall mean three or more members of the total Commission</u> <u>membership of five members.</u> The only action which can be taken at a meeting attended by less than a quorum is to adjourn the meeting to a certain day and time or indefinitely.
- c. To be passed, all motions and resolutions must receive the affirmative votes of no less than the majority of the Commission unless otherwise required by law.
- d. Members of the Commission who are unable to attend a meeting shall, if possible, so inform the Chairman, Executive Secretary, or Clerk in advance of said meeting in order to determine a quorum in advance.
- e. Voting shall be by roll call. Except on hearing items, the Chairman may elect to call for "all in favor" or "any opposed" verbal vote. All officers of the Commission, excepting the Executive Secretary, shall be able to so vote.

- f. Any person desiring to appear before the Commission, except at public hearings, may have the matter placed on the Commission's agenda, stating the name of the party and the purpose of the appearance. The matter will be considered during Public Forum, pursuant to procedures adopted by the Board of Supervisors.
- g. Any question of procedure not governed by the rules herein set forth, shall be decided in accordance with the latest revised edition of Robert's Rules of Order.
- h. The Commission, by motion, may suspend or vary the application of these rules with regard to any proceedings or to any particular problem before the Commission.
- i. The Commission will review and comment on the Planning Department/Planning Commission budget.
- j. The Commission will provide direction to the Planning Director in the administration of the General Plan and Zoning Program for the County.
- ki. By majority vote of the Planning Commission, the Commission may agendize items through the Resolution of Intention process (used for hearing items, i.e., rezoning initiated by the Commission, ordinance amendments initiated by the Commission, etc.).
- 4j. By majority vote of the Planning Commission, items discussed during Public Forum may be agendized for further discussion and/or action. These items will be placed on the next available agenda.
- $\underline{mk}$ . The Commission may repeal, amend, or add to these rules by resolution.

Adopted by the Planning Commission of the County of El Dorado on March 26, 1970

Amended on: December 28, 1976 March 1971 March 14, 1978 March 31, 1981 April 30, 1996

Douglas J. Noble, Chairman

Conrad B. Montgomery, Executive Secretary

\\<u>\\dsfs0\DS-Shared\PL-ShareFolder\INBASKET\Char\Planning Commission\Bylaws\Bylaws\Bylaws\Proposed changes.doeS\\PL-ShareFolder\INBASKET\JoAnn\Planning Commission\Bylaws\Bylaws.doe</u>

**Comment [RPT2]:** superceded by Board of Supervisors