

## university of california COOPERATIVE EXTENSION Agriculture & Natural Resources

COOPERATIVE EXTENSION • EL DORADO COUNTY Bethell-Delfino Agriculture Building · 311 Fair Lane · Placerville, CA 95667 · Tel. 530-621-5502 · Fax 530-642-0803

February 22, 2012

Dear Supervisor Dupray,

The Youth Commission interviews have been completed. The individual interviews were held Tuesday, May 13 and Thursday, May 15<sup>th</sup>. The individual interviews were organized and implemented by the returning Youth Commissioners, who also designed the questions for the interviews. The individual interviews were conducted by a youth and adult team consisting of: Carol Martin, Corey Harkins, Kaitlyn Fuqua, Lauren Cockrell, Camille d'Abreu, Steven Kent, Liz White and Jeannette Phillips.

Current Youth Commissioners recommended for reappointment are: District I Reed Blakemore, Ponderosa High School Camille d'Abreu, Loretto High School

District II Christina Salomon, Ponderosa High School

District III Dakota Keeton, Gold Oak Arts Center

District IV Lauren Cockrell, Union Mine High School

District V Corey Harkins, Union Mine High School Steven Kent, Smith Flat Charter

GIS/GPS Project Coordinators Kevin Holt, Oakridge High School Colin Mila, El Dorado High School

Web Master Eli Nisman, Ponderosa High School

Grant Coordinator Kaitlyn Fuqua, Union Mine High School



Cultural Awareness Committee Daisy Ramos-Gonzalez, El Dorado High School

Humane Education Committee Jessica Luna, Union Mine High School Liana Novak, South Tahoe Middle School

The recommended youth for appointment to the four open voting Board positions:

District I	Ashish Nag, Mira Loma High School
District II	Jessica Richard, Ponderosa High School
District III	Grace Tillotson, El Dorado High School
District IV	Sarah Walker, Golden Sierra High School

The recommended youth for appointment to the seven open committee positions:

Cultural	Nichole Spencer, El Dorado High School
Environmental	James Howe, Union Mine High School
Environmental	Sarah Maxwell, Union Mine High School
Health/Obesity/etc	Emilee Guido, Ponderosa High School
Health/Ob/Etc	Taryn Baer, Union Mine High School
Park/Rec	Caitlyn Stone, Union Mine High School
Park/Rec	William Tillotson, El Dorado High School

The recommended youth for appointment to the Clerk of the Board:

Katrina Hannameyer, El Dorado High School

We appreciate the Board of Supervisors' continued support of this innovative and exciting opportunity for youth to have a voice in our governmental process. Our timeline in order for the Board of Supervisors to appoint the new Youth Commission at the Board meeting June 3 is to notify the applicants of their selection next Tuesday, May 27<sup>th</sup> at the Youth Commission meeting followed by a congratulation letter. We would appreciate your tentative approval of the proposed selection of applicants by that date. Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions. You may reach us by calling Christine B.-Morris at 621-5503.

Sincerely,

Carol Martin

cc: Bill Frost, UCCE County Director