Introduced by Assembly Member Bigelow (Coauthors: Assembly Members Aguiar-Curry, Caballero, Dahle, Gallagher, Mathis, and Wood)

January 17, 2017

An act to amend Section 14502 of the Government Code, relating to transportation.

## LEGISLATIVE COUNSEL'S DIGEST

AB 174, as introduced, Bigelow. California Transportation Commission: membership.

Existing law creates the California Transportation Commission, with various powers and duties relative to the programming of transportation capital projects and allocation of funds to those projects pursuant to the state transportation improvement program and various other transportation funding programs.

Existing law provides that the commission consists of 13 members, 11 voting members, of which 9 are appointed by the Governor subject to Senate confirmation, 1 is appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules, and 1 is appointed by the Speaker of the Assembly, and 2 Members of the Legislature who are appointed as nonvoting ex officio members.

This bill would require that at least one voting member reside in a rural county with a population of less than 100,000 individuals.

Vote: majority. Appropriation: no. Fiscal committee: yes. State-mandated local program: no.

AB 174 — 2 —

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 14502 of the Government Code is amended to read:

- 14502. The commission consists of 13 members appointed as follows:
- (a) Nine members shall be appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. One member shall be appointed by the Speaker of the Assembly and one member shall be appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules, with neither of these members subject to confirmation by the Senate. A member appointed pursuant to this subdivision shall not simultaneously hold an elected public office, or serve on any local or regional public board or commission with business before the commission.
- (b) One Member of the Senate appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules and one Member of the Assembly appointed by the Speaker of the Assembly shall be ex officio members without vote and shall participate in the activities of the commission to the extent that such participation is not incompatible with their positions as Members of the Legislature.
- (c) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a voting member of the commission may serve on the High-Speed Rail Authority as established in Division 19.5 (commencing with Section 185000) of the Public Utilities Code.
- (d) (1) At least one voting member shall reside in a rural county with a population of less than 100,000 individuals.
- (2) When an appointment is made to the commission after January 1, 2018, the Governor, Speaker of the Assembly, and Senate Committee on Rules shall ensure that it is made in conformance with this subdivision.