## **DRAFT**

March 9, 2017

Honorable Shiva Frentzen, Chairman of the Board Honorable John Hidahl Honorable Brian Veerkamp Honorable Michael Ranalli Honorable Sue Novasel and El Dorado County CAO, Don Ashton El Dorado County ACAO, Shawne Corley

El Dorado County Board of Supervisors 330 Fair Lane, Building A Placerville, California 95667

Re: Good Governance Goal of the County Strategic Plan

The Community and Economic Development Advisory Committee (CEDAC) would like to voice our support for the Good Governance Goal of the County Strategic Plan. We understand the plan was presented and an update given at the Board of Supervisor meeting of January 24, 2017 by the Chief Administrative Office. The essence of the following objectives has been noted for simplicity and to identify the issues CEDAC believes are especially important.

- Objective 2.3: Identify and implement best practices in departments serving the public, continue striving to improve customer support, and improve communications with the public.
- Objective 2.4: Develop service level standards for all line/constituent facing departments for the purpose of continuous service improvements as well as establishing a framework for improved communications and customer engagement.
- Objective 2.5: Recognize and develop both internal and external processes to effectively inform County employees, the public, and communication channels about changes in county regulations and local newsworthy events.

The committee looks forward to offering our support in attaining these stated objectives. One possible way would be working with the new Communications Outreach Manager. An existing position that can attain some of the objectives is the Customer Service Ombudsman in the Community Development Agency. To be effective, though, the public should be aware of this

important support position. Communication about County services and opportunities for economic development should be part of the ultimate goal.

Very sincerely,

Linnea Marenco, Chair, CEDAC Laurence Brilliant, District I and Vice Chair Scot Bernstein, District II Maryann Argyres, District III Roberta Long, District IV Charlie Downs, At-Large Member Kris Payne, Alternate, At-Large Member