

## **PROCLAMATION**

## Of the Board of Supervisors of the County of El Dorado In Recognition of Steve Willis

WHEREAS, the mission of the El Dorado County Fire Safe Council is to protect the people of El Dorado County and their property from the effects of catastrophic wildfire through education, cooperation, innovation, and action, with this mission guiding the Council's goals to coordinate a county-wide Fire Plan, to educate the public about fire threat and fire prevention measures, and to promote "Firewise" communities; and,

WHEREAS, guided by the leadership and tireless efforts of Steve Willis, the El Dorado County Fire Safe Council has developed a strong network of partnerships with community based Associate Fire Safe Councils as well as local, regional, state and federal organizations that serves to coordinate the resources, knowledge and mutual objectives of each of these organizations in order to protect the citizens, homes, communities and natural resources throughout the County of El Dorado from catastrophic wildfire; and,

WHEREAS, Steve Willis successfully led the efforts of the El Dorado County Fire Safe Council to bring together county residents and the Council's partners to contribute to the development and completion of the "Western El Dorado County Community Wildfire Protection Plan," a planning document that will lead county-wide and community level strategies to educate and engage residents in the implementation of wildfire prevention and fire safety projects.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED**, that the Board of Supervisors of the County of El Dorado does hereby recognize and honor Steve Willis for his outstanding dedication in leading the El Dorado County Fire Safe Council in their exceptional efforts to promote the importance of wildfire education, mitigation and planning throughout the County of El Dorado and on the successful completion of the "El Dorado County Community Wildfire Protection Plan."

Passed by the Board of Supervisors of the County of El Dorado at a regular meeting of said Board, held this 14th day of February, 2017.

Supervisor John Hidahl, District I

Supervisor Brian Veerkamp, District III

Supervisor Shiva Frentzen, District I

Supervisor Michael Ranalli, District IV

Supervisor Sue Novasel, District

Toward

Attest:

James S. Mitrisin

Clerk of the Board of Supervisors

Deputy Clerk

17-0148 2C 1 of 1