

PROCLAMATION

Of the Board of Supervisors of the County of El Dorado In Recognition of the Members of the Juvenile Service Council El Dorado County – West Slope

WHEREAS, the volunteer members of the Juvenile Service Council began serving the youth at the El Dorado County West Slope Juvenile Detention Facility in 1980, and expanded their membership in 2015 to include volunteers to work with the youth at the South Lake Tahoe Juvenile Treatment Center; and,

WHEREAS, the members of the Juvenile Service Council provide the youth detained in both of these Juvenile Detention Facilities with positive interactions and experiences that seek to enhance their self-esteem; and,

WHEREAS, each year the Juvenile Service Council secures funding through special events and grants in order to provide resources, programs and access to educational courses that present these youth with opportunities to acquire skills, develop confidence and accomplish goals; and,

WHEREAS, the members of the Juvenile Service Council organize activities throughout the year for the youth to celebrate holidays as well as special occasions and individual achievements, providing opportunities that encourage behavior and personal choices that redirect them to become productive members of the community.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED, that the Board of Supervisors of the County of El Dorado does hereby recognize and honor the members of the Juvenile Service Council for their dedicated work that positively influences and makes a difference in the lives of the youth at the El Dorado County West Slope Juvenile Detention Facility.

"Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around." – Leo Buscaglia

Passed by the Board of Supervisors of the County of El Dorado at a regular meeting of said Board, held this 12th day of June, 2018.

Spervisor John Hidahl, District I

Supervisor Shiva Frentzen, District II

Supervisor Brian Veerkamp, District III

Supervisor Michael Ranalli, District IV

Supervisor Sue Novasel, District V

Attest:

James S. Mitrisin

Clerk of the Board of Supervisors

18-0933 C 1 of 1