

County of El Dorado

Minutes

Behavioral Health Commission

Jim Abram, Chair Dr. Stephen Clavere, Vice-Chair WS Dr. Richard Lynn, Vice-Chair SLT Shawn Allan, Secretary John Hidahl, Board of Supervisors Representative Denise Burke, Commissioner Jan Melnicoe, Commissioner Norman Nester, Commissioner Arturo Salazar, Commissioner Henry Sandigo, Commissioner Craig Therkildsen, Commissioner Vacant (5), Commissioner

Wednesday, June 27, 2018

5:00 PM

Meeting Locations (in person and connected via tele/video-conferencing):
 Health and Human Service Agency, 3057 Briw Road, Sierra Room, Placerville, CA
 Behavioral Health Office, 1900 Lake Tahoe Blvd., Suite 103, South Lake Tahoe, CA

CALLED TO ORDER, AND ROLL CALL; INTRODUCTIONS

Guests: Leslie Griffith, Lynn Hall, Kathryn Hamilton, Barry Harwell, Fred Hjerpe, Austin Lamb, Jocelyn Lamb, Chris Stedeford, Jacque Vaughn, Carol Ward

HHSA Staff: Nicole Cable, Katy Eckert, Heather Longo, Sabrina Owen, Jamie Samboceti, Tami Smith, Ren Strong

- Present: 8 Jan Melnicoe, Craig Therkildsen, Jim Abram, Norman Nester, Shawn Allan, Arturo Salazar, Richard Lynn and John Hidahl
- Absent: 3 Denise Burke, Stephen Clavere and Henry Sandigo

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

A motion was made by Commissioner Melnicoe, seconded by Commissioner Nester, to adopt the Agenda as written.

PUBLIC COMMENT

- S. Bolton

DISCUSSION / ACTION ITEMS

1. 18-0999Approval of the May 23, 2018 Behavioral Health Commission Minutes
and June 4, 2018 MHSA Annual Update Public Hearing Minutes

A motion was made by Commissioner Nester, seconded by Commissioner Melnicoe, to adopt the May 23, 2018 Behavioral Health Commission Minutes and the June 4, 2018 Annual Update Public Hearing Minutes as written.

Yes:	8 - Jan Melnicoe, Craig Therkildsen, Jim Abram, Norman Nester, Shawn Allan, Arturo Salazar, Richard Lynn and John Hidahl
Absent:	3 - Denise Burke, Stephen Clavere and Henry Sandigo
2. 18-1000	Commissioner Abram requests that the Behavioral Health Commission recommend to the Board of Supervisors that Kathryn Hamilton be appointed as a full member of the Behavioral Health Commission
	A motion was made by Commissioner Melnicoe, seconded by Commissioner Allan, that the Behavioral Health Commission recommend to the Board of Supervisors that Kathryn Hamilton be appointed as a full member of the Behavioral Health Commission.
Yes:	8 - Jan Melnicoe, Craig Therkildsen, Jim Abram, Norman Nester, Shawn Allan, Arturo Salazar, Richard Lynn and John Hidahl
Absent:	3 - Denise Burke, Stephen Clavere and Henry Sandigo
5:12 PM ROLL CALL	
	Commissioner Sandigo arrived
3. 18-1001	Child Welfare Services Presentation
	Presentation by Leslie Griffith, Assistant Director, Social Services Division
	Public Comment – R. Lynn, B. Harwell, K. Hamilton, J. Samboceti, R. Strong, J. Melnicoe, N. Nester
5:28 PM ROLL CALL	
	Commissioner Clavere arrived
	 Jan Melnicoe, Craig Therkildsen, Jim Abram, Stephen Clavere, Norman Nester, Shawn Allan, Arturo Salazar, Henry Sandigo, Richard Lynn and John Hidahl
Absent:	1 - Denise Burke
4. 18-1002	Update on Stepping Up Initiative
	Supervisor Hidahl
	Public Comment – S. Clavere, J. Abram, H. Sandigo
5. 18-1003	Questions / Comments on Behavioral Health Division Monthly Report
	– J. Melnicoe, J. Abram, S. Allan, J. Samboceti
COMMISSIONER'S COMMENTS	

– J. Abram, J. Melnicoe, R. Lynn

DETERMINE NEXT MENTAL HEALTH COMMISSION MEETING DATE

- Chair Abram – The next regular Behavioral Health Commission meeting is August 22, 2018

ADJOURNMENT – 6:38 PM