

PROCLAMATION of the Board of Supervisors of the County of El Dorado Commemorating December 15, 2019 as Bill of Rights Day in El Dorado County"

WHEREAS, the first 10 amendments to the Constitution of the United States of America, known collectively as the Bill of Rights, were ratified on December 15, 1791; and

WHEREAS, the Bill of Rights recognizes, affirms, and protects our most fundamental rights as Americans, serving to safeguard our liberties and to guarantee the freedom of speech, press and assembly; the freedom of religion and conscience; the right to a fair trial and prohibition against cruel and unusual punishment; and

WHEREAS, on November 27, 1941, to commemorate the 150th anniversary of the ratification of the Bill of Rights, President Franklin D. Roosevelt issued a proclamation to designate December 15, 1941, as Bill of Rights Day, and referred to the first ten amendments of the Constitution of the United States as "the great American charter of personal liberty and human dignity" as part of his message; and

WHEREAS, to commemorate the Bill of Rights with a special day, December 15th ensures that we honor the protection of the fundamental rights and freedoms it enshrines and the sacrifices made to create and preserve these rights; and

WHEREAS, Bill of Rights Day is a day for the officials of the Government and the people of the United States to remember and honor the Bill of Rights and the liberties that it affirms and protects by displaying the flag of the United States on public buildings and by meeting together for such prayers and such ceremonies as may seem to themappropriate.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED, that the Board of Supervisors of the County of El Dorado does hereby proclaim December 15, 2019, as Bill of Rights Day in the County of El Dorado.

PASSED AND ADOPTED by the Board of Supervisors of the County of El Dorado at a regular meeting of said Board, held this 17th day of December 2019.

Attest: Kim Dawson Clerk of the Board of Supervisors By:

Sall

Deputy Clerk

Sue Novasel, Chair, Board of Supervisors