COUNTY OF EL DORADO

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

330 Fair Lane Placerville, CA 95667 (530) 621-5390 (530) 622-3645 Fax

> KIM DAWSON Clerk of the Board



JOHN HIDAHL
District I
SHIVA FRENTZEN
District II
BRIAN K. VEERKAMP
District III
LORI PARLIN
District IV
SUE NOVASEL
District V

March 24, 2020

Mr. John Quiroz Fairs and Expositions Branch Chief California Department of Food and Agriculture 1220 N Street Sacramento, CA 95814

Transmittal Via E-mail: <u>John.Quiroz@cdfa.ca.gov</u>

RE: Fair Allocation Rulemaking

Dear Mr. Quiroz,

On behalf of the El Dorado County Board of Supervisors, we send this letter regarding the long-awaited disbursement of Fair Allocation Funding per Assembly Bill 1499 by Assembly Member Adam Gray (Chapter 798, 2017).

Fairs and fairgrounds are an integral asset to El Dorado County. Since the State Budget eliminated \$32 million for the support of fairs in 2011-12, long-term funding solutions have been sorely needed to fill the gap. AB 1499 was a significant step forward in the long-term viability for the operations and maintenance of fairgrounds to ensure fairs and fairgrounds, particularly in rural areas, remain vibrant. Fairs serve a multitude of beneficial uses such as community events, evacuation centers during catastrophic wildfires and other emergencies, including public safety command centers.

Further, more leadership from the CDFA is needed on how these monies will be allocated to fairs, not only with respect to minimum grant awards in a given year, but also if there are minimum funding guarantees to qualifying fairs. It is incumbent that Fair Boards have budget stability and planning capability. These AB 1499 funds should primarily be used for fairs with limited sources of revenue and for general operational support, including deferred maintenance.

Thank you for your attention to this matter. I respectfully request that the CDFA not delay any further in distributing these much-needed funds.

Sincerely,

Brian K. Veerkamp, Chair, El Dorado County Board of Supervisors

cc: Kathy Diaz, California Department of Food and Agriculture
Honorable Brian Dahle, California State Senate
Honorable Frank Bigelow, California State Assembly
Honorable Kevin Kiley, California State Assembly
Cara Martinson, California State Association of Counties
Staci Heaton, Rural County Representatives of California
The Honorable Adam Gray, Member of the State Assembly
The Honorable Frank Bigelow, Member of the State Assembly
The Honorable Robert Rivas, Member of the State Assembly Member
Joshua Eddy, Executive Director, California State Board of Food and Agriculture