

County of El Dorado

Economic Development 330 Fair Lane Placerville, CA 95667 (530) 621-5595

Minutes - Draft

Community & Economic Development Advisory Committee

Maryann Argyres, Chair, District III
Noah Briel, District I
Eva Robertson, District II
Roberta Long, District IV
David Orr, District V
Charlie Downs, At-Large Member
Linnea Marenco, At-Large Member
Kris Payne, Alternate, At-Large Member

Staff
Jeffrey B. McLaughlin, Economic Development Manager

Thursday, January 28, 2016

1:00 PM

OES Conference Room 330 Fair Lane, Lower Level

South Lake Tahoe Teleconference Facility:
Dept. of Transportation - Engineering
2nd Floor Conference Room
924 B Emerald Bay Road
South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150

1 CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

Meeting called to order at 1:08 p.m.

Absent: 2 - Charlie Downs and Eva Robertson

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

16-0021

Staff recommending the Committee adopt the agenda of the January 28, 2016, meeting and approve the meeting minutes from the regular meeting of December 17, 2015.

Attachments: DRAFT MINUTES 17-Dec-2015

Motion by K. Payne, seconded by D. Orr, to adopt the Agenda and approve the Minutes from the December 17, 2015, regular meeting. Motion carried.

OPEN FORUM

L. Brent Bumb

SUBCOMMITTEE AND MEMBER UPDATES (CEDAC)

K. Payne, L. Marenco, D. Orr, J. McLaughlin

16-0139 Subcommittee and Member Updates (CEDAC) - See Attachments

Attachments: A - EDCBusSvy012116FINAL

B - Strategic Plan Draft 011916

DISCUSSION ITEMS

15-1465

Staff recommending the Committee appoint a Chair and Vice-Chairperson for the 2016 calendar year per Resolution 147-2015, SECTION 7. OFFICERS OF THE COMMITTEE: "At the first meeting of the Community and Economic Development Advisory Committee held after January 1 in each calendar year, the Committee shall select one of its members as chairperson and one of its members as vice-chairperson, who shall hold office for one year and until the election of their successors. The chairperson shall be responsible for chairing Committee meetings, and conferring with staff on meeting agendas. In the event of the chairperson's absence, the vice-chairperson shall assume the responsibilities of the chairperson."

Attachments: A - CEDAC Resolution 147-2015

A motion was made by R. Long, seconded by D. Orr, to appoint Maryann Argyres as CEDAC Chairperson and Linnea Marenco as CEDAC Vice-Chairperson. Motion carried.

16-0020

Cherie Raffety, Treasurer-Tax Collector, along with Dave Johnston, Air Quality Management Board Pollution Control Officer, and Steve Ferry from the El Dorado County Citizens for a University, will present an update on local efforts to recruit a four- or five-year university campus to El Dorado County. (Est. Time 20 min.)

Attachments: A - UC EDCounty proposal

B - Facebook Screen Shot (1)

Received and Filed

<u>15-1441</u>

In accordance with Policy 10.1.1.1 of the Economic Development Element of the County General Plan discuss annual review of the Economic Development Element regarding the status of accomplishments in the past year; discuss the 2016 CEDAC Action Plan identifying top economic development priorities in the coming year, establishing goals and objectives to reflect those priorities and incorporating relevant goals of the Strategic Plan Framework for

presentation to the Board of Supervisors in 2016, and consider any action regarding same, including establishing ad hoc subcommittees for topics discussed. Item continued from December 17, 2015, meeting. (Est. Time: 60 min)

Attachments: A2 - CEDAC Action Plan Matrix Discussion Draft

A motion was made by L. Marenco, second by K. Payne, to continue this item to a Special Meeting to be held on Thursday, February 11, 2016, at 1:00 p.m. Location and time to be determined. Motion carried.

ADJOURNMENT

Meeting adjourned at 4:00 p.m.