

County of El Dorado

Board of Supervisors 330 Fair Lane, Building A Placerville, California 530-621-5390 FAX 530-622-3645 www.edcgov.us/bos

Minutes - Final Board of Supervisors

Ron Mikulaco, Chair, District I Shiva Frentzen, First Vice-Chair, District II Michael Ranalli, Second Vice-Chair, District IV Brian K. Veerkamp, District III Sue Novasel, District V

James S. Mitrisin, Clerk of the Board of Supervisors Larry T. Combs, Chief Administrative Officer Michael Ciccozzi, Interim County Counsel

Tuesday, March 15, 2016

9:00 AM

330 Fair Lane, Placerville, CA

Special Meeting

Vision Statement Safe, healthy and vibrant communities, respecting our natural resources and historical heritage

BOARD MEETING ROOM EQUIPPED WITH AN AUDIO INDUCTION LOOP ASSISTIVE LISTENING SYSTEM.

Live Web Streaming of the Board of Supervisors Meetings, Agendas, Supplemental Materials and Minutes of the Board of Supervisors are available on the internet at: http://eldorado.legistar.com/Calendar.aspx

The County of El Dorado is committed to ensuring that persons with disabilities are provided the resources to participate in its public meetings. Please contact the office of the Clerk of the Board if you require accommodation at 530-621-5390 or via email, edc.cob@edcgov.us.

9:06 A.M. CALL TO ORDER AND PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG

Supervisor Veerkamp led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present: 5 - Supervisor Mikulaco, Supervisor Veerkamp, Supervisor Frentzen, Supervisor Ranalli and Supervisor Novasel

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

A motion was made by Supervisor Frentzen, seconded by Supervisor Veerkamp to Adopt the Agenda.

Yes: 5 - Mikulaco, Veerkamp, Frentzen, Ranalli and Novasel

(Minutes continued on the next page)

9:00 A.M. - TIME ALLOCATION

1. <u>16-0213</u>

Supervisor Ranalli recommending the Board, pursuant to Government Code Section 1780, approve the appointment of two candidates to the Mosquito Fire Protection District Board of Directors to complete the terms of office for two (2) of four (4) seats that are vacant due to resignation, for terms to expire December 2, 2016.

A motion was made by Supervisor Ranalli, seconded by Supervisor Veerkamp to appoint Joseph Snyder and Eugene Swystun to the Mosquito Fire Protection District Board of Directors.

Yes: 5 - Mikulaco, Veerkamp, Frentzen, Ranalli and Novasel

(Minutes continued on the next page)

9:30 A.M. - TIME ALLOCATION

2. <u>16-0209</u>

Chief Administrative Office and County Counsel recommending the board consider the following:

- 1) Receive and file the following presentations on medical marijuana;
- a) Background on medical marijuana in California;
- b) Short background on the Medical Marijuana Regulation Safety Act and future possible legislation/propositions;
- c) Future decision points regarding medical marijuana;
- d) How will future decisions affect County departments; and
- e) How will future decisions affect the public; and
- 2) Provide direction on timing and procedures for considering any new medical marijuana ordinances. (Est. Time: 5 Hr.)

Public Comment: R. Ross, C. Bass, A. O'Neill, A. Anderson, B. Gubick, J. Habate, L. Davies, K. Scott, J. Wilson, R. Miller, D. Schafer, M. Niella, K. Oliver, F. Delmer, S. Bradley, B. Eisenberg, B. Davies, C. Barrow

County staff Paula Frantz of County Counsel and Creighton Avila of the Chief Administrative Office opened the session with a presentation and overview.

Speakers from organizations:

Nate Bradley representing "California Cannabis Industry Association"
Matt Vaughn representing "Medical Marijuana Caregivers Association"
Mitch Fadel representing "American Alliance for Medical Cannabis"
Lucy Oliveria representing "Drug Free Divide"
Patty Hunsinger representing "Bear State Property" Volcanoville

County staff speakers:

Dave Johnston, Director, Air Quality Management District Charlene Carveth, Agricultural Commissioner / Sealer of Weights of Measures Dr. Nancy Williams, Public Health Officer, Health and Human Services Agency John D'Agostini, Sheriff

At the conclusion of their discussion, the Board directed staff to form an advisory committee to include Supervisor Ranalli (Chair) and Supervisor Novasel, with a recommendation to include appropriate staff from the county departments/agencies listed below and further directed the committee to return to the Board no later than May 3, 2016 with a report and recommendations on next steps;

Chief Administrative Office
Health and Human Services Agency
Air Quality Managment District
Sheriff's Office
District Attorney
Community Development Agency (CDA)
CDA Code Enforcement Division
County Counsel
Agriculture

ADJOURNED AT 4:47 P.M.