

# **County of El Dorado**

Board of Supervisors
Department
330 Fair Lane, Building A
Placerville, California
530-621-5390
FAX 530-622-3645
www.edcgov.us/bos

# Minutes - Final Board of Supervisors

Ron Mikulaco, Chair, District I Shiva Frentzen, First Vice-Chair, District II Michael Ranalli, Second Vice-Chair, District IV Brian K. Veerkamp, District III Sue Novasel, District V

James S. Mitrisin, Clerk of the Board of Supervisors Don Ashton, Chief Administrative Officer Michael J. Ciccozzi, County Counsel

Wednesday, December 28, 2016

10:00 AM

Building C Hearing Room 2850 Fairlane Court Placerville, CA

## **Special Meeting**

This meeting will be teleconferenced at the following location to allow for participation of Supervisor Veerkamp.

First American Title, 1438 N. First St. Hamilton, Montana 59848

Vision Statement
Safe, healthy and vibrant communities, respecting our natural resources
and historical heritage

Live Web Streaming of the Board of Supervisors Meetings, Agendas, Supplemental Materials and Minutes of the Board of Supervisors are available on the internet at: http://eldorado.legistar.com/Calendar.aspx

The County of El Dorado is committed to ensuring that persons with disabilities are provided the resources to participate in its public meetings. Please contact the office of the Clerk of the Board if you require accommodation at 530-621-5390 or via email, edc.cob@edcgov.us.

Public comment will be received on each agenda item listed under Department Matters or Time Allocation as called by the Chair. Where applicable, the principal party on each side of an issue is allocated 10 minutes to speak, individual comments are limited to 3 minutes, and individuals speaking for a group are allocated 5 minutes. (Adopted 8/10/93) Except with the consent of the Board, individuals shall be allowed to speak to an item only once. Upon completion of public comment the matter shall be returned to the Board for deliberation. Members of the public shall not be entitled to participate in that deliberation, or be present at the podium during such deliberation, except at the invitation of the Board for a point of clarification or question by the Board. The Board reserves the right to waive said rules by a majority vote.

Matters not on the agenda may be addressed by the general public during the Open Forum. Public comments during Open Forum are limited to three minutes per person and the total amount of time reserved for Open Forum may be limited. Public comment on items scheduled for Closed Session will be received before the Board recesses to Closed Session.

Materials related to an item on this Agenda submitted to the Board of Supervisors after distribution of the agenda packet are available for inspection during normal business hours in the public viewing packet located in Building A, 330 Fair Lane, Placerville (Temporary Building #2) or in the Board Clerk's Office located at the same address. Such documents are also available on the Board of Supervisors' Meeting Agenda webpage subject to staff's ability to post the documents before the meeting.

The Board of Supervisors is concerned that written information submitted to the Board the day of the Board meeting may not receive the attention it deserves. The Board Clerk cannot guarantee that any FAX, email, or mail received the day of the meeting will be delivered to the Board prior to action on the subject matter.

The Board meets simultaneously as the Board of Supervisors and the Board of Directors of the Air Quality Management District, In-Home Supportive Services, Public Housing Authority, Redevelopment Agency and other Special Districts.

For Purposes of the Brown Act § 54954.2 (a), the numbered items on this Agenda give a brief description of each item of business to be transacted or discussed. Recommendations of the staff, as shown, do not prevent the Board from taking other action.

# 10:00 A.M. - CALLED TO ORDER

Clerk of the Board note: Supervisor Veerkamp participated by teleconference pursuant to satisfactory evidence that the meeting agenda was published in accordance with the Ralph M. Brown act.

**Present:** 5 - Supervisor Veerkamp, Supervisor Frentzen, Supervisor Ranalli, Supervisor Novasel and Supervisor Mikulaco

#### PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG

Supervisor Novasel led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

## **ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA**

A motion was made by Supervisor Veerkamp, seconded by Supervisor Novasel to Adopt the Agenda. A roll call vote was conducted.

Yes: 5 - Veerkamp, Frentzen, Ranalli, Novasel and Mikulaco

#### 10:00 A.M. - TIME ALLOCATION

**1.** 17-0012

Supervisor Frentzen recommending the Board sign the attached Proclamation recognizing Supervisor Mikulaco for his four years of dedicated service to the County and the First Supervisorial District, and thank him for his commitment to our community.

Public Comment: K. Payne

Supervisor Frentzen read the Proclamation.

A motion was made by Supervisor Frentzen, seconded by Supervisor Veerkamp to Approve the Proclamation. A roll call vote was conducted.

Yes: 5 - Veerkamp, Frentzen, Ranalli, Novasel and Mikulaco

2. 16-0398

Chief Administrative Office recommending the Board:

- 1) Adopt and authorize the Chair to sign Resolution **223-2016** authorizing the Chair to execute Forms RD 1942-46 "Letter of Intent to Meet Conditions" and Forms RD 1940-1, "Request for Obligation of Funds" in order for the United State Department of Agriculture (USDA) Rural Development to give further consideration and approval of the County's application for funding to construct a Public Safety Facility; and
- 2) Authorize the Chief Administrative Officer, or designee, to execute any additional documents relating to the USDA loan that do not change the loan amount, contingent upon County Counsel review and approval as applicable.

FUNDING: Accumulative Capital Outlay Funds, General Fund.

Public Comment: J. Abrahm, S. Taylor, L. Parlin, K. Smith, K. Payne.

A motion was made by Supervisor Veerkamp, seconded by Supervisor Ranalli to Approve this matter and Adopt Resolution 223-2016. A roll call vote was conducted.

Yes: 5 - Veerkamp, Frentzen, Ranalli, Novasel and Mikulaco

# ADJOURNED AT 11:10 A.M.