

County of El Dorado

Minutes - Final

Board of Supervisors

Michael Ranalli, Chair, District IV Sue Novasel, Vice Chair, District V Brian K. Veerkamp, Second Vice Chair, District III John Hidahl, District I Shiva Frentzen, District II

James S. Mitrisin, Clerk of the Board of Supervisors Don Ashton, Chief Administrative Officer Michael J. Ciccozzi, County Counsel Board of Supervisors Department 330 Fair Lane, Building A Placerville, California 530-621-5390 FAX 530-622-3645 www.edcgov.us/bos

Friday, April 20, 2018	9:00 AM	330 Fair Lane, Placerville, CA
	Special Meeting Budget	

Special Meeting - Budget

Vision Statement

Safe, healthy and vibrant communities, respecting our natural resources and historical heritage

This institution is an equal opportunity provider and employer.

Live Web Streaming and archiving of most Board of Supervisors meeting videos, all meeting agendas, supplemental materials and meeting minutes are available on the internet at: http://eldorado.legistar.com/Calendar.aspx

To listen to open session portions of the meeting in real time, dial (530) 621-7603. This specialized dial in number is programmed for listening only and is operable when the audio system inside the meeting room is activated. Please be advised that callers will experience silence anytime the Board is not actively meeting, such as during Closed Session or break periods.

The County of El Dorado is committed to ensuring that persons with disabilities are provided the resources to participate in its public meetings. Please contact the office of the Clerk of the Board if you require accommodation at 530-621-5390 or via email, edc.cob@edcgov.us.

The Board of Supervisors is concerned that written information submitted to the Board the day of the Board meeting may not receive the attention it deserves. The Board Clerk cannot guarantee that any FAX, email, or mail received the day of the meeting will be delivered to the Board prior to action on the subject matter.

The Board meets simultaneously as the Board of Supervisors and the Board of Directors of the Air Quality Management District, In-Home Supportive Services, Public Housing Authority, Redevelopment Agency and other Special Districts.

For Purposes of the Brown Act § 54954.2 (a), the numbered items on this Agenda give a brief description of each item of business to be transacted or discussed. Recommendations of the staff, as shown, do not prevent the Board from taking other action.

Materials related to an item on this Agenda submitted to the Board of Supervisors after distribution of the agenda packet are available for inspection during normal business hours in the public viewing packet located in Building A, 330 Fair Lane, Placerville or in the Board Clerk's Office located at the same address. Such documents are also available on the Board of Supervisors' Meeting Agenda webpage subject to staff's ability to post the documents before the meeting.

PROTOCOLS FOR PUBLIC COMMENT

Public comment will be received at designated periods as called by the Board Chair.

Except with the consent of the Board, individuals shall be allowed to speak to an item only once.

On December 5, 2017 the Board adopted the following protocol relative to public comment periods:

Time for public input will be provided at every Board of Supervisors meeting. Individuals will have three minutes to address the Board. Individuals authorized by organizations will have three minutes to present organizational positions and perspectives and may request additional time, up to five minutes. At the discretion of the Board, time to speak by any individual may be extended.

Public comment on certain agenda items designated and approved by the Board may be treated differently with specific time limits per speaker or a limit on the total amount of time designated for public comment. It is the intent of the Board that quasi-judicial matters have additional flexibility depending upon the nature of the issue.

Individual Board members may ask clarifying questions but will not engage in substantive dialogue with persons providing input to the Board.

If a person providing input to the Board creates a disruption by refusing to follow Board guidelines, the Chair of the Board may take the following actions.

Step 1. Request the person adhere to Board guidelines. If the person refuses, the Chair may ask the Clerk to turn off the speaker's microphone.

Step 2. If the disruption continues, the Chair may order a recess of the Board meeting.

Step 3. If the disruption continues, the Chair may order the removal of the person from the Board meeting.

9:00 A.M. - CALLED TO ORDER

Present: 5 - Supervisor Veerkamp, Supervisor Frentzen, Supervisor Ranalli, Supervisor Novasel and Supervisor Hidahl

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG

Supervisor Ranalli led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

A motion was made by Supervisor Frentzen, seconded by Supervisor Veerkamp to Adopt the Agenda.

Yes: 5 - Veerkamp, Frentzen, Ranalli, Novasel and Hidahl

9:00 A.M. - TIME ALLOCATION

 1.
 18-0596
 Chief Administrative Office recommending the Board receive information and provide direction regarding priorities for the Fiscal Year 2018-19 Budget.

FUNDING: General Fund and Non-General Fund.

Public Comment: K. Payne, T. Kayes

Assistant CAO Shawne Corley led the discussion.

A motion was made by Supervisor Veerkamp, seconded by Supervisor Ranalli to approve staff's recommendation thereby funding both intersections with direction to utilize funding in the following order (Refer to Attachment C): Industrial Drive / Missouri Flat Road: Public Safety Facility Budget: \$750,000 General Fund/Discretionary: \$1,241,000 Sheriff Contribution Local Discretionary/Tribe: \$159,000 Enterprise Drive / Missouri Flat Road: TIM Fee Zone 1-7: \$500,000 Local Discretionary/Tribe: \$1,984,200

Yes: 5 - Veerkamp, Frentzen, Ranalli, Novasel and Hidahl

A motion was made by Supervisor Veerkamp, seconded by Supervisor Novasel to direct staff to fund the \$5 million increase to Designation for Capital Projects and contribute \$2 million to the Accumulated Capital Outlay (ACO) Fund. (Refer to Attachment A, slide 19)

Yes: 5 - Veerkamp, Frentzen, Ranalli, Novasel and Hidahl

ADJOURNED AT 10:51 A.M.