

## County of El Dorado

330 Fair Lane, Building A Placerville, California 530 621-5390 FAX 622-3645 www.edcgov.us/bos/

## Legislation Details (With Text)

**File #:** 12-1086 **Version**: 2

Type: Agenda Item Status: Approved

File created: 8/21/2012 In control: Board of Supervisors

**On agenda:** 2/5/2013 **Final action:** 2/5/2013

Title: Supervisors Briggs and Veerkamp recommending the Board appoint Supervisor Briggs as the County

of El Dorado's Alternate to the Iowa Hill Joint Advisory Committee (IHJAC).

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. A - EDC SMUD Agrmnt Pages.pdf, 2. B - IHJAC Meeting Procedures (1).pdf, 3. C - Public

Comment.pdf

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
2/5/2013	2	Board of Supervisors	Approved	Pass
8/28/2012	1	Board of Supervisors	Approved	Pass

Supervisors Briggs and Veerkamp recommending the Board appoint Supervisor Briggs as the County of El Dorado's Alternate to the Iowa Hill Joint Advisory Committee (IHJAC).

On August 28, 2012, the Board of Supervisors accepted Supervisor Sweeney's resignation as the County's appointed representative to the Iowa Hill Joint Advisory Committee (IHJAC). The Board then appointed Supervisor Briggs as the County's representative with the understanding that the appointment would be temporary until the new Board of Supervisors was seated in January 2013.

On January 8, 2013, the Board of Supervisors appointed newly elected District III Supervisor Brian Veerkamp as the County's representative to the IHJAC.

The IHJAC Meeting Procedures provides that the IJHAC shall consist of seven members: two members representing Sacramento Municipal Utility District (SMUD); two members representing the County of El Dorado; one member from the Iowa Hill Action Committee; one member from the Camino Advisory Committee and one member from the Apple Hill Growers. Two of the seven members shall be co-chairs. One co-chair shall be a representative of the County of El Dorado Board of Supervisors and the second shall be a representative of SMUD.

The IHJAC Meeting Procedures, Rule 1.4 - Quorum, provides for alternate co-chairs.

Supervisors Briggs and Veerkamp recommending the Board appoint Supervisor Briggs as the County of El Dorado's Alternate Co-Chair to the Iowa Hill Joint Advisory Committee (IHJAC).

## **HISTORY**

The IHJAC was formed in 2006 with SMUD, El Dorado County, ElD and community stakeholders. Supervisor Sweeney was appointed to the IHJAC in 2006 as the member with the Water Agency representative as the alternate. The IHJAC was formed to receive public input and to develop

File #: 12-1086, Version: 2

reasonable and feasible measure to substantially mitigate the impacts of activities related to the construction of the Iowa Hill Development on the surrounding communities and existing infrastructure. The Committee will soon start discussing the newly proposed Generation Facility below Slab Creek Reservoir.