

Legislation Text

File #: 10-0474, Version: 4

Chief Administrative Office recommending the Board consider the reappointment of community members to a one-year term on the Community and Economic Development Advisory Committee (CEDAC) as follows:

1) Reappoint member Roberta Long, District IV, to a one (1) year term effective May 11, 2013, expiring on May 10, 2014;

2) Reappoint the following At-Large Members: Mark Nava and Danny Shilin to a one (1) year term effective May 11, 2013, expiring on May 10, 2014;

3) Reappoint Jeanne Harper, District V, to a one (1) year term effective June 27, 2013 to June 26, 2014; and

4) Reappoint Michael Ranalli, At-Large Member, to a one (1) year term effective June 27, 2013 to June 26, 2014.

Background

The Community and Economic Development Advisory Committee (CEDAC) fulfills Policies 10.1.1.1 and 10.1.1.2 within the Economic Development Element of the County of El Dorado's General Plan. These policies call for the creation of an advisory body, appointed by the Board of Supervisors, "... to advise and recommend to the Board of Supervisors policies and a course of action that will facilitate the County's economic vitality."

The initial formation of the Community and Economic Development Advisory Committee occurred on May 9, 2006 when the Board of Supervisors adopted Resolution #103-2006 creating the Economic Development Advisory Commission to provide input and advice to the Board on matters related to business, industry and economic development. The initial group sponsored several community forums and provided feedback on various regulatory reform issues.

On July 3, 2007, the Board adopted Resolution #213-2007 which added a workforce development and education at large member and henceforth superseded Resolution #103-2006. With the addition of new members, the committee was primarily focused on working with industry and staff from the Development Services Department/Department of Transportation, now known as the Community Development Agency, in reforming specific regulatory barriers.

On February 10, 2009 the Board adopted Resolution #25-2009 which expanded the commission to eleven members and henceforth superseded Resolution #213-2007.

On May 18, 2009 the Board adopted Resolution #91-2009 which revised the terms of office to one year with committee member participation to be on a strictly volunteer basis and henceforth superseded Resolution #25-2009.

On March 25, 2013 the Board adopted Resolution #029-2013 modifying the committee name from Economic Development Advisory Committee (EDAC) to Community and Economic Development Advisory Committee (CEDAC). The modified name better reflects the direction of the committee while maintaining the vital economic development responsibilites and recognizing the need to engage

File #: 10-0474, Version: 4

all county communities in the tasked work.

CEDAC meets monthly to educate themselves on the work of committee members, review and discuss sub-committee activities and receive and discuss presentations from community groups.

CEDAC Composition:

Five Supervisorial Appointments William T. Abraham (Existing - District I) Jim Brunello (Existing - District II) Maryann Argyres (Existing - District III) Roberta Long (Existing - District IV) Jeanne Harper (Existing - District V)

Six at-large Appointments Gordon Helm (Existing) Dale van Dam (Existing) Charles Downs (Existing) Mark Nava (Existing) Danny Shilin (Existing) Michael Ranalli (Existing)

Reason for Recommendation

Approval of the committee appointments allows for the continuation of the work of the Community and Economic Development Advisory Committee.

Action to be taken following Board approval:

CAO staff will communicate reappointment to the appointees.

Contact: Kimberly Kerr, Assistant Chief Administrative Officer