

County of El Dorado

330 Fair Lane, Building A Placerville, California 530 621-5390 FAX 622-3645 www.edcgov.us/bos/

Legislation Text

File #: 07-1998, Version: 1

Agricultural Commission Independent Review Panel recommending Greg Boeger be reappointed to serve as a representative for the Agricultural Processing Industry and William (Bill) Draper be appointed to serve as a representative for the Forestry/Related Industries on the El Dorado County Agricultural Commission for terms to expire January 2012.

Fiscal Impact/Change to Net County Cost: There will be no fiscal impact or net county cost impact associated with the recommended appointment.

Background: It is recommended that the Board of Supervisors re-appoint Greg Boeger to represent the Agricultural Processing Industry and Bill Draper to represent the Forestry/Related Industries on the El Dorado County Agricultural Commission for a four (4) year term beginning January, 2008 and expiring January, 2012.

The Agricultural Commission is comprised of seven members, not officials of the county, appointed by the Board of Supervisors, representing the following industries: Forestry/Related (1), Livestock (2), Fruit and Nut Farming (2), Agricultural Processing (1), and Other Agricultural Interests (1).

In accordance with Agricultural Commission Bylaws adopted by the Board of Supervisors on August 31, 2004, a Notice of Terms of Office Expiration was submitted to the local newspapers and to county agricultural organizations. In addition, an independent Review Panel comprised of industry representatives as identified in the Agricultural Commission By-Laws § 4(a), met on December 3, 2007, to review applications and interview candidates. As a result, the independent Review Panel recommends the Board of Supervisors re-appoint Greg Boeger to represent the Agricultural Processing Industry and Bill Draper to represent the Forestry/Related Industries on the El Dorado County Agricultural Commission for a four (4) year term beginning January, 2008.

The Review Panel was comprised of seven members from the following organizations: Agricultural Commission, Dave Pratt (Fruit & Nut Farming Industry) and Chuck Bacchi (Livestock Industry); Apple Hill Growers Association, Maryann Argyres; El Dorado County Farm Bureau, Jim Davies; El Dorado Winegrape Growers, Norm Krizl; Farm Trail Association, Wendell Smith; Christmas Tree Growers Association, Randy Rapetti.

Action to be taken following Board approval: Agricultural Commission appointees, Greg Boeger and Bill Draper, to begin their terms (January, 2008 to January, 2012) at the regularly scheduled meeting of January 9, 2008.

Contact: Myrna Tow X6647