

Legislation Text

File #: 22-1671, Version: 1

Supervisor Novasel recommending the Board consider the following:

 Approve the reappointment of Jason Drew to continue serving as the lay member representing El Dorado County on the Tahoe Regional Planning Agency Advisory Planning Commission; and
Forward this reappointment of Jason Drew to the Tahoe Regional Planning Agency Governing Board for final approval.

FUNDING: N/A

The 19-member Advisory Planning Commission assists the Tahoe Regional Planning Agency's Governing Board with technical and scientific issues. The Commission is made up of local planners, general members of the community and other representatives who are experts in their fields. Each month, the Advisory Planning Commission holds open meetings and encourages the public to take an active role in the decision-making process.

Under Article III of the Tahoe Regional Planning Agency's (agency) Code of Ordinances, it states:

(h) An advisory planning commission shall be appointed by the agency. The commission shall include:

The chief planning officers of Placer County, El Dorado County, and the City of South Lake Tahoe in California and of Douglas County, Washoe County and Carson City in Nevada, the executive officer of the Lahontan Regional Water Quality Control Board of the State of California, the executive officer of the Air Resources Board of the State of California,

the director of the State Department of Conservation and Natural Resources of the State of Nevada, the administrator of the Division of Environmental Protection in the Nevada State Department of Conservation and Natural Resources

the administrator of the Lake Tahoe Management Unit of the United States Forest Service, and, at least four lay members with an equal number from each State, at least half of whom shall be residents of the region.

Any official member may designate an alternate.

The term of office of each lay member of the advisory planning commission shall be 2 years. Members may be reappointed.

The position of each member of the advisory planning commission shall be considered vacated upon loss of any of the qualifications required for appointments, and in such an event the appointing authority shall appoint a successor.

The advisory planning commission shall elect from its own members a chairman and a vice chairman, whose terms of office shall be 2 years and who may be reelected. If a vacancy occurs in either office, the advisory planning commission shall fill such vacancy for the unexpired term.

A majority of the members of the advisory planning commission constitutes a quorum for the

transaction of the business of the commission. A majority vote of the quorum present shall be required to take action with respect to any matter.