Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Bookmark and Share
File #: 18-0726    Version: 1
Type: Agenda Item Status: Approved
File created: 4/27/2018 In control: Board of Supervisors
On agenda: 5/8/2018 Final action: 5/8/2018
Title: Supervisor Ranalli recommending Board approve and authorize Chair to sign a Proclamation recognizing May 6-12, 2018, as Safety Seat Checkup Week.
Attachments: 1. A - Proclamation-2018 Safety Seat Checkup Week, 2. B - Safety Seat Checkup Info, 3. Executed Proclamation
Related files: 17-0263, 16-0176, 08-0504, 11-0363
Title
Supervisor Ranalli recommending Board approve and authorize Chair to sign a Proclamation recognizing May 6-12, 2018, as Safety Seat Checkup Week.
Body
DISCUSSION / BACKGROUND
Automobile collisions are the number one preventable cause of death and permanent injury for children and young adults, as well as a major cause of permanent brain damage, epilepsy, and spinal cord injuries. A sudden stop at 30 miles per hour could cause the same crushing force on a child's brain and body as a fall from a three-story building. Each year, more than 90 child passengers under the age of fifteen are killed and more than 10,000 are injured in automobile collisions in California. A child’s life and safety while driving down the highway depends on a car seat that is appropriate for the child's age and weight and is properly installed.

The Placerville Area California Highway Patrol (CHP) Office is proud to provide Child Safety Seat inspections and installations. Local residents can contact the Placerville Area CHP Office to schedule an appointment to have their child's safety seat inspected and learn how to properly install their child's safety seat from one of the CHP’s specially trained Child Safety Seat Technicians. This service is always free. At times, upon inspection by the technician, the seats caretakers arrive with are not appropriate for the child. The CHP offers free replacement car seats and booster seats through funding from the Office of Traffic Safety.

Key Legal Points:

California law states that ALL CHILDREN under 8 years of age must be properly restrained in an appropriate child safety seat in the back seat of the vehicle.

Children under 2 years of age must ride in a rear-facing car seat, in the back seat of the vehicle unless they are 40 or more pounds or 40 inches or more in height.

A child who is at least 8 years of age or older or 4’9” in height or taller should continue to ride in the back seat in either a properly fitted child safety seat o...

Click here for full text